In-Person/Virtual Meeting
Marlene L. Garcia (Executive Director)
Members Present
  • Catalina Cifuentes (Chair), 
  • Charles Nies (Vice Chair), 
  • Debra Maxie (Secretary), 
  • Patrick Day, 
  • Juanita Doplemore, 
  • Audrey Dow, 
  • Shannon Gary, 
  • Hal Geiogue, 
  • Guillermo Mayer, 
  • Steve Ngo, 
  • David O'Brien, 
  • Angel Rodriguez, 
  • Alexis Takagi, 
  • and David Valladolid

A meeting of the California Student Aid Commission (Commission) will be held at the Commission’s Boardroom, 11120 International Drive, Suite 100, Rancho Cordova, CA.

As a result of the COVID-19 emergency, certain provisions of the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act were waived by executive orders issued by the Governor to protect public health by limiting public gatherings and requiring social distancing.  Those waivers were extended through additional executive orders and legislation. Most recently Senate Bill 189 was enacted and included an extension of the waivers through June 30, 2023. This meeting will be scheduled to provide both an in person opportunity to attend as well as a remote participation option in compliance with the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act, and Senate Bill 189, which suspended the requirements that a physical location be available for members of the public during a teleconference meeting, that each teleconference location be accessible to the public, and that at least one member of the state body be physically present at the location specified in this notice.

Members of the public are welcome to listen to the teleconference meeting and provide public comment by using the following information:

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 872 1017 1244

One tap mobile

+16694449171,,87210171244# US

+16699006833,,87210171244# US (San Jose)

Dial by your location

        +1 669 444 9171 US

        +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

        +1 719 359 4580 US

        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

           +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

        +1 386 347 5053 US

        +1 564 217 2000 US

        +1 646 931 3860 US

        +1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

Members of the public who are interested in closed caption to the open session portions of this meeting may do so by streaming the meeting over the internet using the following link:

NOTE: Participants streaming the meeting over the internet will not be able to offer comments, ask questions, or otherwise participate in the meeting.

The Commission will meet to discuss and may take action on the following items:

Note:  The Commission and/or Committee may not discuss or take action on any matter raised during this public comment section, except to decide whether to place the matter on the agenda of a future meeting (Government Code Sections 11125, 11125.7(a)).

Lilly Myers, Deputy Director
Fiscal and Administrative Services Division

Jake Brymner, Deputy Director
Policy and Public Affairs Division

Tae Kang, Deputy Director
Program Administration and Services Division

Patrick Perry, Deputy Director
Data, Analysis and Research Team

Commissioner Guillermo Mayer
California Student Aid Commission

Commissioner Patrick Day
California Student Aid Commission

Libby Knerl, Personnel Officer
Fiscal and Administrative Services Division

NOTE:  Items designated for information are appropriate for Commission action if the Commission wishes to take action. 

This information is also available on the Commission’s website at  For information concerning this meeting, contact Gloria Lopez by phone at (916) 464-8074 or (916) 464-8271, or by e-mail at [email protected].

Agenda items occur sequentially.  When circumstances warrant, the Chair may modify the order of items as they appear on the agenda.  The meeting location is accessible to the disabled.  If you require special assistance, please contact Gloria Lopez at least 5 days before the meeting to make special arrangements.

No Item Selected